PortmanWinona State University College of Education Dean Tarrell Portman has been selected to receive a 2015 Alumni Merit Award from Southeast Missouri State University.

The Alumni Merit Award (AMA) is the highest recognition given to Southeast Missouri State University alumni. The AMA is awarded on the basis of professional achievements, community involvement, personal character, and/or University support and involvement. The award will be presented to Portman at the annual Copper Dome Society Dinner Oct. 16.

Portman earned her bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education and Art Education and a master’s degree in Guidance and Counseling from Southeast Missouri State University.

Portman joined WSU in July 2014 as the Dean of the College of Education. Prior to this, Portman served 15 years at the University of Iowa, as the Assistant Dean and Director of the Office of Graduate Inclusion in the Graduate College, as Administrator/Coordinator for the Graduate Certificate in Multicultural Education and Culturally Competent Practice, and as a counselor Education Faculty member.

Portman also was the owner/therapist of Riverside Counseling Services, PLLC. She has received many national honors, including being the first recipient of the national Mary Smith Arnold Anti-oppression award. As a graduate student, Portman was a National Holmes Scholar and a National Indian Fellow for the Department of Education in Washington, D.C. Portman has a 14-year career in K-12 public schools as an elementary teacher, school counselor, and special education administrator. Portman is an accomplished researcher, presenter and national leader.

About the Winona State University College of Education

Winona State University was founded as the first teacher preparation school west of the Mississippi River. The College of Education enrolls more than 1,500 undergraduate and graduate students on its campuses in Winona and Rochester. The college is divided into seven departments and five centers, ranging from Early Childhood & Elementary Education to Counselor Education to Leadership Education, and featuring 40 full-time faculty members. Initial licensure and advanced programs are accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Minnesota Board of Teaching (BOT).  The Counselor Education programs are accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) and are recognized for state licensure in both school and community counseling. The Leadership Education K-12 Principal and Superintendent programs are accredited by the Minnesota Board of School Administrators (BOSA). The WSU Children’s Center is accredited by the National Association of the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).

To learn more about the WSU College of Education visit: http://www.winona.edu/education/

The following two tabs change content below.

Emily Dean

Latest posts by Emily Dean (see all)