The annual student-designed holiday card is a special tradition at Winona State University. Each year, our students demonstrate originality and talent as they share their perspectives on the WSU experience. 

It is a privilege to share with you this year’s digital card, which captures the spirit of perseverance and innovation embodied by our students, faculty, and staff as we embraced new ways of learning, growing, and sharing together. 

Each day, I’m reminded how blessed we are to be a part of the WSU community. It’s good to be back, Warriors! 

From all of us at Winona State University, we wish you the blessing and joy of the season and a happy and healthy 2022! 

Sincerely yours, 

President Scott and Kelley Olson 

About the Designers

This year’s digital card was created by WSU students Xin He ‘22 and Ken Tham ‘22, whose concept reflects not only Warriors navigating new learning environments at home and on campus, but also the University’s collective sense of community getting stronger than ever during the pandemic. 

When we were designing this animation, we really wanted to capture the excitement everyone expressed at the opportunity to experience our education on campus again.

Xin and Ken are seniors in the I-Design program with a concentration in conceptual illustration. 

Regarding other projects they’ve completed at WSU, Xin has worked for the International Office and Ken has collaborated with the English Department. They both have also worked for the Alumni Office and the Geoscience Department.