Student Senate President Joshua Hanson

Winona State University will honor the recipients of this year’s President’s Civic Engagement Awards from 3 to 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 29, in the Student Activity Center in Kryzsko Commons.

This year’s recipient of the President’s Steward Award is Ruth Charles. The President’s Steward Award is given to an engaged faculty, staff or administrator who significantly advanced the distinctive civic mission by forming strong partnerships, supporting others’ civic engagement and working to institutionalize a culture and practice of engagement.

The recipients of the President’s Community Partner Award are Andrea Hauser of Gundersen  Health System, Lee Trombetta of Winona Health and Paula Phillips and Cassie Boddy of Community Care Network. This award is given to engaged community partners who have worked closely with faculty to develop a capacity of the university to benefit the community and enhance student learning and scholarship.

The recipients of the President’s Student Leadership Award are Joshua Hanson, Jennifer Hoffman, Christopher Veeder and Khatlija Choudhry. This award is given to engaged students who model a deep commitment to civic responsibility, leadership, evidenced by initiative, passion, collaboration and integration of civic engagement into the college experiences.

Ruth Charles, Gundersen Lutheran and Joshua Hanson are also Campus Compact Award Recipients. These recipients in addition will be invited to the Campus Compact Award Ceremony to be recognized at a state level.

The President’s Civic Engagement Awards are given each year to celebrate and acknowledge individuals who have demonstrated a practice of civic engagement and commitment to student learning and scholarship; embracing our mission to be a community of learners dedicated to improving our world.

For more information, contact the University Communications Office at 507-457-5024.

The following two tabs change content below.

Brett Burger

Latest posts by Brett Burger (see all)