Diane May

Diane May

Winona State University faculty member Diane May has been named one of the nation’s top legal studies educators, earning the prestigious Charles M. Hewitt Master Teacher Award presented annually by the Academy of Legal Studies in Business (ALSB), the international organization of professors who teach law in business.

May, an associate professor of business law in the College of Business, was announced as one of four finalists this spring to present her Master Teacher Proposal, “Using Scaffolding to Improve Student Learning in Legal Environment Courses,” at the ALSB annual conference this summer in Seattle. The finalists’ proposals were selected through a double-blind, peer review process. May went on to win the top award, selected by a vote of more than 150 peers following the Master Teacher presentations. The award recognizes faculty who lead the way in incorporating new subject matter, cultural shifts, and advances in pedagogy and technology into their classes.

May also received the Hoeber Memorial Award for Excellence in Research from the Journal of Legal Studies in Education (JLSE) for her article on the same topic. The JLSE is a peer-reviewed academic legal journal that closely examines pedagogical issues within business legal studies. The Hoeber Memorial Award is presented annually by the JLSE editorial staff.

For more information, contact Diane May.

About the WSU College of Business

The WSU College of Business enrolls approximately 1,300 undergraduate students. The college has 41 full-time professors and offers seven undergraduate majors and ten undergraduate minors. The college is accredited by The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. To learn more about the WSU College of Business visit: http://www.winona.edu/business.

The following two tabs change content below.

Andrea Northam

Latest posts by Andrea Northam (see all)